Testing Our Communication

So it hasn’t been as long this time as the last time, but still a stint longer then I would have preferred.

I have been fairly busy recently, finals are coming up around the corner and I did my thing yet again.  My thing being a habitual pattern where I complete homework and study on time for the first month and a half of the semester, then I say, “Hell, I’m smart enough” and go off gaming and hanging out with friends until finals come around and then I’m like… oh shit.

I have a 8-10 page paper to complete in Archaeology in nine days that I’ve barely touched, as well as two finals to study for.  I’m being a little silly right now by still getting wrapped up in my on-line MMO’s and going out with friends on the weekends, which is prime studying time as I don’t have work and school tying up the schedule.  Sometimes I want to kick myself repeatedly for being such an idjit.

So that last entry was resolved, I figured it all out.  Ranting about it on the void of the Internet was helpful.  I talked to the boyfriend about it and he said that he could not honestly say he understood, but that he was sympathetic.  Unlike a lot of other women that I can think of that say they want an honest relationship but really only want their boyfriends to say what they want them to say–I actually do appreciate honesty, even if it’s something I don’t like to hear at the time.

Other then that little snag, that bad day, the “experiment” went quite well.  We’ve both come to accepting that eventually we’re going to move in together, because it seems to be something both of us really want.  We really like each other and though we know we’ll drive each other a little crazy sometimes, we think that we can make this work. 

We went to see a play last night, “The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas”.  I did not realize it had been a movie as well until I told Uncle D. and the mama about it, and they have both seen the film.  I really enjoyed the play, and going to theater events with the boyfriend has been very cool.  I’ve never been on actual dates with other boyfriends, mainly we’ve hung out around the house and just had sex or played video games or something to that effect.  This boyfriend and I still do things like that, but we both feel the need to get out there and do something from time to time.

Here’s an interesting thing that has been happening to me recently… a two inch by one inch patch on my right wrist has gone completely numb.  It’s right where the wrist connects to the hand, and I think it’s from being on the computer for such long periods of time without a wrist support for the mouse, though I have a support for the keyboard.  I don’t use the keyboard as much as the mouse, however, when it comes to MMO’s.

Another thing that I meant to come on here and rant about the other day was the behavior of, pretty much, my only friend–Jay.  Jay has been bitching to me for the last four months about two of his friends, Allison and Roger.  Apparently Jay had a thing for Allison and she told him that she was not ready for a relationship at the moment, and then a month later was dating Roger.  Allison then told Jay that she did not think they would have worked out because he was too much like her last boyfriend, and that it was OK, she and Roger had gotten together mostly for sex anyway.

Now, I’ll say one thing about Jay, and that is that he is a busy-body, he likes to be in everbody’s business and to get the reason, no matter how much it will hurt him or his other friends.  He used to be in the military before he was honorably discharged for multiple medical reasons (none of them psychological I assure you).  He likes everything in a neat little order, he likes to have his rules and everything in his life to stick to those rules.  In twenty three years he has not yet realized that human beings cannot generally be fit into these rules, that we are thinking, feeling, impulsive, passionate things that generally find rules disgusting at the least, or at least something to be avoided.

In short, he thinks that the relationship between Allison and Roger needs to be structured, needs to have rules, like everything else.  He has been trying, for four months, to hold both of them accountable for rules that only he sees and wants.  Both of them have become increasingly more agitated with him and because everyone is kind of miserable no one is enjoying each others company.

Well, I went with Jay last Sunday to a LARP that he has been playing for about four years, along with many of his friends.  It really is a nice social event… in which you get to dress up and beat people up with padded sticks and swords.  If anyone is into the Ren Fest, a LARP is about just as fun, with fantasy heavily intermingled and it happens almost every weekend, which is a plus.  The one that Jay and I went to is free for NPC’s, but if you play a PC you have to pay a fee for day or weekend events.  The one that we went to was a day event.

Anyway, there I met his friends for the third time in about two years of knowing Jay.  I was very relaxed and happy, shooting the shit with them and everything, and I realized that none of them were as hung up on the Roger-Allison thing as Jay was.  I guess that I had always figured that his other friends were just as hung up on the issue as he was, but when I realized that they too thought that Jay was being an overbearing asshole, I kind of snapped.

Jay threw a fit near the end of the event.  He’s recovering from pneumonia and everyone was trying to make sure that he took it easy, but when he was told again to go sit down (he was having a coughing fit), he threw a temper tantrum and ended up making himself feel worse then before.  When he finally sat down, after much persuading, I went to him and started asking what the hell was wrong.  When he started spouting off the same bullshit about Allison and Robert as he has for the last three months, I got a little fed up and decided to call over Allison and make the two talk instead of both of them hearing third-party information that was making a simple situation overly dramatic.

Allison opened up, according to Jay, in a way that she had not since getting together with Jay.  She said that she was very comfortable having a third party there, especially a female, and that she was angry with Jay for making assumptions, for trying to push her and Roger into HIS ideal kind of a relationship, and generally for being a bastard.  She was quite passionate, and he was being a bit of a coward by saying he was already worked up and emotional so he was not responsible for what he said… which is bullshit.

So, yeah, I said that Jay was a busy body, did I mention that I am also?  I like to help where I see that there is the opportunity for it, that there may be something fixable.  Most of all I was annoyed with Jay because, to me, this was an easy and fixable situation that needn’t have been so dramatic.  He’s a little on the immature side but, as he is still my friend, I’m trying to help him through a lot of this stuff.

Oi, and that’s all for now.  Thanks for being there, Oh Internet Void.

-Della Drago-

Leave a Reply

